Election Information

​Mayor and Council Election August 2, 2022

What's on my ballot?

Mayor: 2-Year Term (1 seat)

Candidates running: Jerry Bien-Willner and Julie Pace 

Town Council Member: 4-Year Term (3 seats)
Candidates running: Ellen Andeen, Paul Dembow, Christine Labelle, and Anna Thomasson

2022 General Plan 
The Town Council adopted the 2022 General Plan on March 17, 2022 and referred it to the voters for ratification.  It will appear on your ballot as Proposition 467. 

How do I learn about the candidates and Proposition 467?

The July 2022 Town Reporter includes statements submitted by the candidates and a summary of the General Plan.  Also, a publicity pamphlet was prepared and mailed to every household with a registered voter.  It includes the full text of the Proposition, a summary of the General Plan, and arguments in support and opposition.

Register to vote: www.ServiceArizona.com

Request an Early Ballot:
Note: The Post Office will not forward Election Ballots to voters who leave town for the summer.
If you will be out of town for the summer and would like to have your ballot forwarded to a temporary address, contact the 
Maricopa County Elections Department at (602) 506-1511 or email at EVreq@risc.maricopa.gov .  You will need to provide your full name, residence address, temporary mailing address, and date of birth.

Find your Polling PlaceLocations.Maricopa.Vote

Election at the August Primary: 
In order for a candidate to be elected at the August Primary, he or she must receive a majority of the total votes cast.   Pursuant to Arizona Law (A.R.S. §9-821.01), the total number of votes cast is calculated by adding the total number of votes cast for all candidates for an office; dividing that sum by the number of seats to be filled at the election and then dividing the result of that calculation by two and rounding the number to the highest whole number. If more candidates receive a majority than there are offices to be filled, the candidates receiving the highest number of votes equal to the number of seats to be filled shall be declared elected.

Key Election Dates:

  • July 5 Last day to register to vote in the August 2nd election
  • July 6 Early voting begins
  • July 22 Last day to request an early ballot
  • July 22 Early voting ballot center opens at Town Hall Community Room
  • July 26 Recommended last day to return your ballot by mail
  • August 2 Election Day - Polls are open from 6am to 7pm.  Ballot Center at Town Hall will also be open.
  • August 2 Preliminary results will be posted online starting at 8pm - results.maricopa.vote
  • January 12 Mayor and Council take office
Elections in Paradise Valley are held in the fall of even numbered years.  Every election cycle the mayor's seat and three council seats are on the ballot.  To be eligible to run for office candidates must meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a qualified elector (registered to vote)
  • Must have been a resident of the Town of Paradise Valley for at least one year prior to the time of election
  • Must be able to speak, write, and read the English language
  • Cannot be a person convicted of a felony (unless the person's civil rights have been restored)

Election Resources & Information

 Información de Elección en Español