Hillside Building Committee

Overview

The Hillside Building Committee is governed by Article XXII (PDF) of the Zoning Ordinance. This Committee consists of 5 members – two citizens appointed by the Council and three rotating Planning Commissioners. It is a Code compliance review committee whose purpose is to review new construction applications for adherence to the Hillside Code. The Committee reviews land disturbance, heights, lighting, building materials, grading and drainage, and other issues in an effort to preserve the hillside.

Applications include:

  • New homes
  • Remodels/additions
  • Solar panel installations
  • Accessory structures (such as ramadas)
  • New pools

Meetings

  • Meetings are held as needed.
  • Town Hall Complex
    6401 E Lincoln Drive
    Paradise Valley, AZ 85253

Agendas & Summaries

View current and archived agendas.

Citizen Members

Scott Jarson

Scott Tonn

Email Committee Members

Comments will be sent directly to the Committee's staff representative and forwarded to all Committee Members. Note: your comments (including any contact information contained in the email) will be a public record subject to disclosure.

Staff Liaison: Hillside Development Administrator Hugo Vasquez

Related Links

Hillside Building Code (PDF)

Hillside Safety Improvement Measures and Process Manual (PDF)

View 2019 Annual Update (PDF)

View Community Conversation Presentation on Hillside Development (PDF)

Land Use Training

Members

Name Email Term Expires
Scott Jarson, Citizen Member & Chair SJarson@paradisevalleyaz.gov April 2021
Scott Tonn, Citizen Member STonn@paradisevalleyaz.gov April 2020
Orme Lewis, Rotating Planning Commissioner OLewis@paradisevalleyaz.gov April 2020
Thomas Campbell, Rotating Planning Commissioner TCampbell@paradisevalleyaz.gov April 2020
Daran Wastchak, Rotating Planning Commissioner DWastchak@paradisevalleyaz.gov April 2021
Charles Covington, Rotating Planning Commissioner CCovington@paradisevalleyaz.gov April 2022
James Anton, Rotating Planning Commissioner JAnton@paradisevalleyaz.gov April 2020
Jonathan Wainwright, Rotating Planning Commissioner JWainwright@paradisevalleyaz.gov April 2021
Pamela Georgelos, Rotating Planning Commissioner PGeorgelos@paradisevalleyaz.gov April 2021
Hugo Vasquez, Staff Liaison HVasquez@paradisevalleyaz.gov N/A